ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Adjourned Annual Meeting held on 31 May 2017

PRESENT:	Councillor Richard Owain Jones (Chair) Councillor Dylan Rees (Vice-Chair)
	Councillors John Griffith, Richard Griffiths, Glyn Haynes, K P Hughes, T LI Hughes MBE, Vaughan Hughes, Llinos Medi Huws, A M Jones, Carwyn Jones, Eric Wyn Jones, G O Jones, R LI Jones, R.Meirion Jones, Alun W Mummery, Bryan Owen, R G Parry OBE, Shaun James Redmond, Alun Roberts, Dafydd Roberts, J A Roberts, Margaret Murley Roberts, Nicola Roberts, P S Rogers, Dafydd Rhys Thomas, Ieuan Williams and Robin Williams
IN ATTENDANCE:	Chief Executive, Assistant Chief Executive (Partnerships, Community and Service Improvements), Head of Function (Resources)/Section 151 Officer, Head of Function (Council Business)/Monitoring Officer, Head of Democratic Services, Committee Officer (MEH).
ALSO PRESENT:	None
APOLOGIES:	Councillors Lewis Davies and R Dew

1. DECLARATION OF INTEREST

None received.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS

It was with great sadness that the Chairperson announced that Mr. Irfon Williams had passed away on Tuesday following his brave battle against cancer. Mr Williams was a Manager of the Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service at Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board. Condolences were extended to Mr. Williams' family and friends.

Members and Officers stood in silent tribute as a mark of their respect and sympathy.

The Chairperson reminded the Members to take account of the Rules of Debate whilst addressing the full Council.

3. MEMBERSHIP OF THE EXECUTIVE

In accordance with Paragraph 4.1.1.2.7 of the Constitution, the Leader named the following as the Members she had chosen to serve on the Executive along with their Portfolio responsibilities :-

Councillor Richard A. Dew with Portfolio responsibility for Planning and Economic Development;

Councillor R. Meirion Jones with Portfolio responsibility for Education, Youth, Libraries and Cuture;

Councillor John Griffith with Portfolio responsibility for Finance;

Councillor Bob Parry OBE FRAgS with Portfolio responsibility for Highways, Property and Waste Management;

Councillor Dafydd R. Thomas with Portfolio responsibility for Human Resources, Information Technology and Council Business;

Councillor Llinos M. Huws (Leader) with Portfolio responsibility for Housing and Social Services

Councillor leuan Williams (Deputy Leader) with Portfolio responsibility for Major Projects and the Welsh Language.

The Leader of the Council said that a report will be submitted to the Executive on 12 June, 2017 with regard to amending the Council's Constitution to increase the number of Executive posts eligible for a senior salary. It was noted that the recommendation from the Executive held on 12 June, 2017 will require full Council approval at its special meeting on 6 July, 2017.

4. CHAIR OF THE DEMOCRATIC SERVICES COMMITTEE

In accordance with Paragraph 3.4.12.3 of the Constitution, it was RESOLVED that Councillor Robert Llewelyn Jones be elected Chairperson of the Democratic Services Committee for 2017/18.

5. CONFIRMATION OF THE SCHEME OF DELEGATION

It was RESOLVED to confirm such part of the Scheme of Delegation as the Constitution determines it is for the Council to agree as set out in Part 3.2 of the Constitution.

6. PROGRAMME OF ORDINARY MEETINGS OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL

It was RESOLVED to approve the following programme of ordinary meetings of the County Council for the ensuing year :-

- 6 July, 2017 at 2.00 p.m. (Special Meeting)
- 26 September, 2017 at 2.00 p.m.
- 12 December, 2017 at 2.00 p.m.
- 28 February, 2018 at 2.00 p.m.
- 15 May, 2018 at 2.00 p.m.

7. POLITICAL BALANCE AND APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS TO COMMITTEES

The report of the Head of the Democratic Services regarding the Council's political balance arrangements was presented for consideration.

It was RESOLVED :-

- To note the new appropriate political balance arrangements and the number of seats attributable to each of the Groups under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, and the number of seats given by custom and practice to the Member(s) not subject to political balance;
- To confirm the names of Members to sit on the under mentioned Committees in readiness for the meetings to elect Chairs and Vice-Chairs :

Corporate Scrutiny Committee; Partnership and Regeneration Scrutiny Committee; Audit and Governance Committee; Planning and Orders Committee; Licensing Committee; Democratic Services Committee (Vice-Chair only).

- That the Group Leaders advise the Head of Democratic Services as soon as possible with details of membership of Other Committees as mentioned within the Appendix to this report;
- To appoint Councillors T.LI. Hughes MBE and Dafydd R. Thomas to serve on the Standards Committee for the duration of the Council.

8. APPOINTMENT TO OUTSIDE BODIES

The report of the Head of Democratic Services seeking confirmation of the schedule of appointments made to outside bodies were presented for consideration.

It was RESOLVED :-

- To confirm the appointments of representatives to serve on the outside bodies listed in Appendix 1 attached to the report;
- Where future modifications are required to the Council's representation on outside bodies, authority be given to the Chief Executive to undertake this task in consultation with Group Leaders;
- In relation to the Council's representation on school governing bodies, authority be given to the Head of Learning, in consultation with Group Leaders to make such appointments;
- The Democratic Services Committee to consider reporting arrangements and make recommendations to the full Council.

The meeting concluded at 3.20 pm

COUNCILLOR RICHARD O JONES CHAIR